Fresh off their completed work at Blanco State Park, CCC Company 854 enrollees turned their attention to the 639-acre Longhorn Cavern State Park in 1934, beginning with the arduous task of hauling some 2.5 tons of silt, debris, and guano out of the underground river-formed limestone cavern. Thus began an organized exploration of one of Texas's natural wonders. The enrollees mapped passageways, installed more than two miles of lighting, and made improvements to allow public access.
From sediment, limestone, and crystal formations found inside the cave, the CCC, under the direction of noted architects Samuel C. P. Vosper and George Walling, fashioned a fantastic and unique set of aboveground public facilities, including the administration building, with its dramatic silhouette, colorful materials, and Gothic arches. An observation tower, one prototype tourist cabin, and cavern entrance compound stairway were also erected, all of cut stone quarried on the park.
- Park Location
- Burnet County, approximately 12 miles southwest of Burnet, US Highway 281 to Park Road 4
- CCC Company
- Activity Dates
- CCC Construction
- Entrance Portals, Park Road 4 and improvements to its right-of-way, Culverts, Cavern Entrance, Administration Building, Cabin, Observation Tower/Water Tower, Picnic Area, Custodian’s Dwelling, and prototype Cabin C. A Double Cabin and prototype Cabins A and B were designed but not built.
- See all objects related to Longhorn Cavern State Park
- Learn More
- Park information from Texas Parks and Wildlife website