With its deep canyons, crystal-clear Frio River, and limestone cliffs providing an inviting setting, the spacious 1,419-acre Garner State Park (named for John Nance Garner, Uvalde resident, longtime Congressman and Vice President 1933-1940), has proven to be one of the most popular parks in the state. Developed by CCC Company 879 during 1935-1941, the trails along the lush river valley attract numerous hikers. Additionally, attending the jukebox dances on summer evenings in the Pavilion has long been de rigueur for generations of visitors.
The combination building, designed by architect John H. Morris and beautifully finished with a colorful encaustic-tiled floor, is made of native limestone and hewn bald cypress and offers breathtaking views from its perch overlooking the Frio. Although that structure remains a nexus for the park decades later, the other contributions made by the CCC--buildings, landscape features, and furniture fashioned of cedar, cypress, oak, ash, and other native materials—are also worthy of note.
- Park Location
- Uvalde County, 8 miles north of Concan, US Highway 83 to FM 1050 to Park Road 29
- CCC Company
- Activity Dates
- CCC Construction
- Park Roads, Culverts, Combination Building (including the dance terrace; currently the pavilion), Keeper’s Lodge with Service Court, Stables, Horse Trails, Foot Trails, Picnic Tables and Benches, Fourteen Overnight Cabins (as many as 50 were considered in the planning stages), Office Building, Storage House, Pump House and Water Well, Entrance Portals (at the now-abandoned original entrance from U.S. Highway 83), and a blacksmith shop. The novel idea of a roller skating rink failed to get past the proposal stage.
- See all objects related to Garner State Park
- Learn More
- Park information from Texas Parks and Wildlife website